2018 Emergency Medicine Forum

April 26, 2018  |  8:30am - 2:30pm
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbus-Worthington

Online registration is now closed. Please call 614-792-6506 to register by phone.
Onsite registrations are also welcome.


DoubleTree by Hilton
175 Hutchinson Ave
Columbus, Ohio 43235


Group Block Deadline: April 11, 2018, or as the block permits
Reservations: Book your room online or call 614-885-3334 or 1-800-870-0349 and be sure to say you're attending the Ohio ACEP EM Forum
Room Rate: $119 plus applicable taxes


"Syndromes You Can't Afford to Miss"
Colin Kaide, MD, FACEP

Dr. Kevin Klauer   

"Critical Care: Bouncebacks!"
Kevin Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP & Michael Weinstock, MD


Continuing Medical Education sessions, featuring nationally known faculty

Ohio Chapter Elections

Ohio ACEP Annual Awards

And more! Check out the Emergency Medicine Forum Agenda

Bonus for Ohio ACEP Members Who Attend:

Complimentary access to Trauma On Demand with 16.5 CME Hours to meet your trauma CME needs!


$75 ACEP/Ohio ACEP Attending Physician Member
$45 Residents
$25 Medical Students
$95 Non-Member

CME Information
This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the American College of Emergency Physicians and Ohio ACEP. The American College of Emergency Physicians is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American College of Emergency Physicians designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Approved by the American College of Emergency Physicians for a maximum of 1.75 hours of ACEP Category I credit

2017 Emergency Medicine Forum

On May 2 and 3 in Columbus, the Ohio Chapter of ACEP held its 2017 Emergency Medicine Forum. Attending physicians, EM residents, medical students, and Ohio legislators gathered for two days of physician advocacy, leadership topics, medical education, and networking. If you weren’t able to join us, here’s what you missed!

Leadership Panel Moody SpeakingAt the “Faces of Physician Leadership” panel, five national leaders in emergency medicine—Drs. Jim Augustine, Paul Kivela, K. Kay Moody, Rebecca Parker, and moderator Ryan Stanton—fielded timely questions about how physicians can support residents, physician wellness, and taking leadership roles in healthcare.

StantonDr. Ryan Stanton, host of ACEP Frontline, then led an enlightening session on the opioid epidemic, “Pain-Free Prescribing: Trends in Opioid Use & Abuse.” Dr. Stanton’s powerful presentation focused on how the crisis has evolved, where it’s going, and how emergency physicians can lead the way in fighting it.  

Morning Rounds Baker Gavarone Mccrea Gardner Hymel

Dr. Andrew Asimos presented the first clinical session of the Forum, “Game Changing Procedures in Stroke Management,” followed by Dr. K. Kay Moody’s empowering workshop, “Take Back Medicine: Healthier Doctors = Healthier Patients.”

At the Membership Luncheon, we were honored to be joined by guests from National ACEP: College President Dr. Rebecca Parker and President-Elect Dr. Paul Kivela, as well as Dr. Jim Augustine, who is also a Past President of Ohio ACEP. We were also honored to recognize thirteen Ohio ACEP Past Presidents at the luncheon:

James Augustine, MD, FACEP: 1994-1995
Eileen Baker, MD, FACEP: 2007-2009
Past PresidentsMark DeBard, MD, FACEP: 1990-1991
Thomas Hall, MD: 1982-1983
Mary Hancock, MD, FACEP: 2003-2005
Bruce Janiak, MD: 1979-1980
Nicholas Jouriles, MD, FACEP: 1997-1998
Gary Katz, MD, FACEP: 2009-2011
Brian Keaton, MD, FACEP: 1991-1992
David Keseg, MD, FACEP: 1998-1999
John Lyman, MD, FACEP: 2013-2015
Catherine Marco, MD, FACEP: 2006-2007
John McCabe, MD, FACEP: 1986-1987

Dr. McCrea then introduced the members of the new 2017-2018 Leadership Development Academy class, Christina Campana, DO; B. Bryan Graham, DO; Amy Raubenolt, MD, MPH, MEd; Tona Rios-Alba, MD; Jeffrey Ruwe, MD; Peter Toth, MD; and Matthew Vrobel, MD.

Afternoon highlights:

  • Drs. Paul Kivela and Michael Weinstock’s informative and engaging session, “Monster Claims: How Recognition of Medical Risks Can Make Patients Safer.”
  • Ohio ACEP Board Member Dr. Ryan Squier gave the Chapter membership an update on the NIX Opiates program, a unique campaign to bring emergency physicians to Ohio high schools to talk candidly with students and parents about the science of addiction and overdose.
  • Rep. Robert Sprague joined the Forum for “Advocacy & the EM Physician”, where he gave a briefing on Ohio’s efforts to fight the opioid epidemic and discussed how physicians can affect positive change in health policy.

2017 Annual Awards Recipients:

Award Mccrea Crop

Michael McCrea, MD, FACEP
Bill Hall Award for Service to Ohio ACEP

Award Squier And Family Crop

Ryan Squier, MD, FACEP
Emergency Physician Advocacy Award

Award Boulger Crop

Creagh Boulger, MD, FACEP
Emergency Medicine Education Award

Award Bahner Crop

David Bahner, MD, RDMS, FACEP
Emergency Physician Leadership Award

Award Bazzoli And Queen Crop

Christopher Bazzoli, MD
Outstanding EM Resident of the Year

Ohio ACEP would like to thank all the members, faculty, speakers, public officials, and physicians for turning out for the 2017 Emergency Medicine Forum—we are glad many of you were able to experience this special event!

And a special thanks also to all the exhibitors and sponsors for making the Emergency Medicine Forum possible, particularly our Premier Partner, West Virginia University Medicine!

For more photos from the 2017 Forum, Like us on Facebook and check out the photo album! And be sure to check out #EMForum17 on Twitter!

Now Accepting EM Forum Sponsors & Exhibitors
2018 Exhibitor Prospectus Cover

Check out the 2018 Ohio ACEP Exhibitor & Sponsor Prospectus

For more pictures from the 2017 Forum, Like us on Facebook and check out the photo album!